top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Koby

An Open Letter to the Undecided Freshman

By Becca Ginn


I might be a bit biased, but you should totally pick public relations.


Trust me, we have all been in your shoes before. We all know what it’s like to leave home for the first time, say goodbye to your childhood friends, and feel that everlasting hug from your parents right before they drive off back to your hometown. College is scary for everyone. But college is even more frightening when you go into it with an undecided major.


When I was about to graduate high school, I remember the confusion like it was yesterday. I had no idea what the heck I wanted to do with my life. I couldn’t wrap my brain around the idea that I was only 17 years old and about to make a decision that would affect the rest of life. I can remember back to the exact moment when I decided my major, public relations. I was eating dinner with my mother and father. We were discussing my interests and all the possible, logical options. (I say logical because apparently ‘I want to be a princess when I grow up’ wasn’t in the playing cards). Finally, my dad spoke up and said, “What about public relations?” My exact response and I kid you not was, “What the heck is public relations?” After much research, but little debate, here I am, a junior at Ball State who has never changed her major.


So why public relations you ask?


For starters, Ball State has one of the best journalism and public relations programs in the state of Indiana, not to mention in the United States. The resources and opportunities this program has are uncountable. There are many organizations that are available for students to join to gain real world, hands-on experiences. These organizations include but are not limited to PRSSA, Cardinal Metrics, Cardinal Communication, and The Daily News.


Secondly, I find that PR allows you to truly be who are you meant to be. Through my two and a half short years of studying public relations, I have channeled a creative side of me that I never knew existed. (No, it’s not the arts and crafts aspect of creativity, unfortunately stick figures is the best I can do.) I’ve realized that I can think outside the box and create solutions to better individuals and/or clients. I have a sense of pride because someday I will be representing something that is greater than myself. I also have noticed that I am the type of person that needs to be on the go, in motion at all times. In the public relations field, you are told that no two days are the same. Each day is filled with excitement and originality.


Finally, when you graduate with a degree in public relations, you graduate with a sense of flexibility and individuality. I like to think that you can work in whatever environment you’d like. When you graduate with a degree in elementary education, you’re obviously going to work in a classroom of some type. Same thing goes for nursing. The work environment will most likely work in a doctor’s office or hospital. With PR, you can work in the music industry, sports industry, even run your own wedding planning business. You have endless possibilities in public relations. You not only have the opportunity to change companies and individuals for the better, but yourself as well.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page