top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Wallace

From the President's Desk: Lessons & Advice

What I Learned as BSU PRSSA President

In the second week of my college career, I joined the executive board for Ball State’s chapter of PRSSA as the Chair of Member Relations. I entered college in 2020, so I knew nothing of the pre-pandemic college experience. PRSSA seemed like a perfect fit for me as I wanted to connect with students also majoring in public relations. In continuing my path with the organization, my sophomore year, I had the role of PR Director where I ran the social media and chapter website. Now, as a junior, I am responsible for the health of the chapter as the President. To be frank, this role has become a blessing and a curse, but it will help me succeed in the future as I have learned different facets of leadership, the importance of faith, and the power of opportunity.


It’s a team for a reason.

When it comes to class projects, I typically become the “project manager” because, let’s face it, I like to know the project is done. If I’m being honest, I have trouble letting other people take the reign if it’s a collective grade. I think a lot of students can understand where I’m coming from. Throughout this school year as the president, I learned the importance of delegating. I’ve experienced this the hard way a few times, but I can’t do it all. Continuing to do as such will only drive me straight into the ground. My team-members were chosen for a reason, and they are all excellent at what they do. We have the same goals and want to revive the chapter after the hit it took due to the pandemic. It has been rewarding to see the chapter multiply, and I hope to continue working with my team next year.


You have to believe in what you do.

If I don’t have the heart and passion to do what I do every day, it will be a sad and unfulfilled life. While I understand not every day is going to be full of sunshine and positive vibes, doing what I can to aspire to that will make me happy. This is something that I have learned in many areas. I chose public relations as my path because I believe in the strength of building relationships and telling stories. With my role as president, it’s my job to build those relationships among students and professionals and help the other learn their stories. Organizations across campus and across the world have seen a major decline in attendance since the pandemic. PRSSA sure has experienced this. Some days are harder than most and it often feels like a huge weight is pressing down on my shoulders, but I feel that if I don’t continue to believe in the power of what PRSSA does for our careers, then the organization will simply no longer exist on Ball State’s campus. That’s a world I don’t want to live in.


Opportunities come to those who participate.

In college, there are two types of students: ones who are heavily involved and ones who aren’t. I’ve learned that if you don’t put yourself out there, certain opportunities have a lower chance of falling into your lap. While this goes for life outside of higher education, today’s college generation seems to be striving for resume builders more than before and everyone is considered a “committed student.” Receiving the added title of president, I believe, has increased my chances of getting specific opportunities. For example, I was chosen to speak at an alumni event in Chicago in the fall about a project I had worked on. The other students that went with me were also heavily involved in the School of Journalism and Strategic Communication with a variety of leadership titles. In the “real world” public relations field, PRSSA is well-known. Every time I have been interviewed for an internship, the first thing they ask me about is my relationship with the organization. More often than not, they were once a member of PRSSA or are now PRSA members! Involvement feeds into the opportunities you receive.


Becoming a member of Ball State’s chapter of Public Relations Student Society of America has been the most rewarding experience of my college academic career. I have been connected with professionals across the world who have connected me with more! Extending my leadership abilities and learning my limits will further my skills in more ways than one. If you would like to become a member of PRSSA or apply for an executive board position, please email prssa.bsu@gmail.com.





84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page