top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Koby

A Shy Girl’s Guide to Networking

By Casey Malue


Throughout my college career so far, there is one word used in the field of public relations that I am tired of hearing. This word is networking. I hear the word and I want to throw something at a wall. Networking is something all PR students and professionals hear every day of their lives. Part of the reason I dislike the word is because of what it means. It means talking to strangers to try and form a connection. Networking is extremely difficult for me.

Coming to college and joining a field where networking is the biggest thing people talk about scares me. There are not many options in PR where I’m from and since I’ve never done it, I’ve become pretty shy about it. The question I always asked myself was, “So, how is someone supposed to reach out to people who aren’t even there?” The answer I’ve found is that there are people out there who want to listen to you. Don’t let being shy and uncertain stop you from meeting people. So, I’ve compiled a few tips for the shy individuals out there who are timid when it comes to networking.


All you need to do is say “hi.” 

The biggest problem I have had is not talking to a speaker or professional because I have no idea what to say. I’m in my seat and want to go up to him or her, but I freeze and draw a blank. Don’t be intimidated. All you need to do is say “hi” and introduce yourself. If it is a speaker, thank him or her for coming and tell them what you appreciated or enjoyed most about his or her presentation. It is not as complicated as you think. Once you introduce yourself, the conversation can start flowing.


Reach out to former PRSSA members.

I had a project where we had to interview a professional in the field of PR we want to go into. I want to go into entertainment PR, but knew absolutely no one. After many failed attempts at reaching out to record labels, magazines and more, I realized I had known someone all along. She was the Vice President of our PRSSA chapter last year, so I reached out to her. Networking doesn’t have to be meeting a stranger; it can be expanding a relationship with someone you already know.


Social networking is networking.

For those who are shy, using the internet is a lot less scary than walking up to someone and introducing yourself. One of my best experiences was during the same project mentioned before. I decided I wanted to interview someone in an entirely different field. A successful entrepreneur with a specialty in communications and marketing followed me on Twitter. I decided to take a chance and slide into his DMs. Yes, I slid into his DMs. It worked! He gave me his business email and phone number. Something as unconventional as that method created a wonderful networking opportunity for me. You can’t rely on social media forever, but connecting with different people through social media, email, and blogging are great ways to help build self-confidence while still effectively making solid connections.


Find something you are passionate about.

Whether that is sports, music, food, tourism, fashion, healthcare, the environment, politics or whatever else you love, really dive into the field. When you find something you love, it is easier to discuss those topics with people. It’s not so hard to connect with somebody when you both share a mutual passion. Developing meaningful connections is what networking is about. Make sure you have each other’s best interest at heart. The best bonds that come out of networking are those that help you learn and grow as a professional and as a person.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page