top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Koby

Networking: How I left a concert with a business card

By Natalie Glidewell


Anyone that knows me knows that I love music and going to concerts. I’ve heavily considered beginning my career in the music and entertainment industry working in promotions, marketing and event production. Whenever one of my favorite bands or musicians comes to Indy or a nearby city, I’m there. So, when I found out Catfish and the Bottlemen were playing at The Riviera in Uptown Chicago I couldn’t miss it.


I drove to Chicago on a Wednesday with my best friend Jordynn to see Catfish. Both of us have been obsessed with these guys since our freshmen year of college. After a four hour drive, a two hour wait in line to enter the venue and a three hour wait for them to come on stage we ended up being front row along the barricade for the greatest show of our lives.

When the show ended we hugged, laughed, cried and went to wait in the merch line like the biggest fangirls you’ve ever seen. I ended up chatting with the opening band, The Worn Flints, while we waited for the line to move along. The Worn Flints put on an awesome performance. Or as Jordynn would say, “A funky mix between Rage Against The Machine and Jack White.” These guys were really laid back, but big comedians at the same time. I never imagined talking to them would lead to such a great networking opportunity.

I remembered they mentioned on stage that they’re from Columbus, Ohio so I told them I had been to a few shows at Newport Music Hall (a small venue in Columbus.) They laughed and said, “Oh, you like Newport?” I smiled and awkwardly told them Newport was one of my favorite venues. They responded with, “Tell him that!” pointing to a tall man working the merch table. As they caught his attention I went on to say, “I love Newport Music Hall!”

Turns out the tall man working at the merch table, Chris, is the general manager for Newport Music Hall. Newport Music Hall is one of four venues in Columbus ran by PromoWest Productions. PromoWest is the largest full-service independently owned entertainment company in the Midwest. The PR in me must have kicked in because I instantly realized a great professional connection fell into my lap.


After Chris explained his role with PromoWest, I didn’t hold back. I immediately went for it and asked if they take interns. We chatted about where I go to school, my area of study and what kind of internships I’m interested in. Luckily, PromoWest internships are all in the areas of public relations, promotions, marketing and event production. I felt like I had hit the jackpot. I fostered a connection that could lead to my dream internship.


My encounter with The Worn Flints and Chris from PromoWest Productions showed me the importance of networking firsthand. It showed me how important it is to be able to recognize when a professional contact is standing right in front of you. And I was able to walk away from the experience with greater confidence and key networking takeaways.


Step out of your comfort zone

Step out of your comfort zone and initiate conversation. Talking to people you don’t know can be extremely intimidating, but it’s the best way to create new connections. Once you take a risk and challenge yourself through networking, you’ll find yourself seeking new opportunity everywhere you turn.

I was kind of nervous and didn’t really know how to approach The Worn Flints in a casual way, but I decided to put myself out there. And it helped me generate a valuable professional contact.


Be authentic

Be authentic in the way you communicate with people. Be genuine in who you are and your interests. Pay attention to what you already know about yourself, while still being curious about the person you are talking to. Curiosity can make you a better listener and help you create better connections.

In talking to The Worn Flints, the information I shared with them about my experiences and interests was genuine. I do love Newport Music Hall. And by being my true self I found common ground with complete strangers.


Be direct

Be direct with the questions you ask. Ask relevant questions and let whoever you are talking to know what you are interested in. If necessary, spell it out for them! Being direct shows you are knowledgeable and passionate about the things you talk about. Because at the end of the day you are an advocate for yourself.

I was not shy in asking Chris from PromoWest if they offered internships. I instantly thought, wow, this sounds like something I might want to do so I should take advantage of it. Having that mindset paid off for me and it will pay off for you, too!


Follow-up

Follow-up within 24 hours. That way you will still be fresh on their mind and they will remember you! Reiterate your excitement, mention who you are, what you talked about and most importantly thank them for their time. The most precious thing anyone can give you in this industry is their time.

I got home from Chicago around 4 a.m. I drafted an email to be sent at 8 a.m. before I went to sleep. The excitement was real.


Natalie with Worn Flints

Your networking hat should always be on. Whether you are in the checkout line at Walmart, waiting in light at an amusement park, or even at a concert. Always have an open mind and seek opportunity because you never know what kind of connections you will create. Three long-haired bearded dudes in a rock band just may lead to your dream internship!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page