top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Koby

Why Switching My Major Was the Best Decision I’ve Made

By Morgan King


Switching my major during my sophomore year to public relations was one of the best decisions I’ve made here at Ball State.


When I switched my major, I still didn’t fully understand what I was getting myself into, but I was definitely ready for whatever came my way.


During my sophomore year, I made an effort to be more involved with different organizations on campus. I decided to get involved with something that related to my major, the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). This organization includes attending bi-weekly meetings with guest speakers who work in the public relations field, agency tours, conferences and more.


I also chose to get involved with something that didn’t necessarily pertain to my major, College Mentor for Kids. This organization focuses on working with children who attend local elementary schools who may be considered to be at risk or come from a rough background. This specific organization gives these children time away from school and their home life in hopes of showing them how college can benefit them. Being involved with College Mentors gives college students the opportunity to make an impact in their little buddy’s life, but at the same time we don’t really realize that they are impacting us as well. At the time, I didn’t realize that getting more involved with children would spark an interest of what area of public relations I would like to further my career in.


I realize now that the opportunity to be surrounded by children within the world of PR is a hidden gem that I never thought I’d find. I look forward to being able to find jobs within children’s hospitals working with their PR and communications teams.


Before I switched my major, I struggled when it came to answering people when they asked what I wanted to do with my degree after graduation. Now I have a passion for public relations along that allows me to pursue an interest I have outside of my major. In my future career, I will be helping make an impact in a children’s life and pursuing my PR passion. I can’t wait.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page